New Print: Start to Finish

Hi everybody!  Instead of just posting a picture of my latest print, I thought it would be fun to share a little bit about about the process.  So in this post, I have included images from the planning stages and of the print in progress.   This is another combination silkscreen/ woodcut print.  I hope you enjoy!

I started by selecting a  reference image.  This is from Goggle Street View.

I started by selecting a reference image. This is from Google Street View. I’ve been working on a series of prints lately based on places that I’ve lived.  This is a view from Highway 101, between Santa Barbara, California, where I lived previously, and Fresno, California, where I live currently.  As you can see, I sketched a bit directly onto a print out of the photo as I began thinking about how I would compose my image.

These are a few of my initial sketches and notes.

These are a few of my initial sketches and notes based on that reference.

This is the drawing I made based on those sketches.

This is the drawing I made based on those sketches.

Here are more notes and a few mock ups I made by scanning that drawing into Photoshop. In Photoshop I experimented with color and finalized my plan.

Here are more notes and a few mock ups I made by scanning that drawing into Photoshop. In Photoshop I experimented with color and finalized my plan.

Here are all of the screen printed background layers.

Here are all of the screen printed background layers.

Here is the block still being carved.

Here is the block still being carved.

The fully carved and inked block.

The fully carved block.

The final print.

The final print.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 128 other followers

