New Jumbo Woodcut: Blood and Bones

Hey everybody! Here are some process shots from a giant woodcut I recently wrapped up.  It’s called “Blood and Bones” and was created for a Day of the Dead show at the Art House Gallery in downtown Fresno.  When they invited me to do the show they said I had a 4 foot by 4 foot space.  So naturally I decided to carve a 3.5 foot by 3.5 foot block.

I  started by making a small drawing which I then blew up to the appropriate size.  Here you see Tali helping me piece the blown-up image together.

 

LeeAnnDiCicco_Bones9

LeeAnnDiCicco_Bones8

All pieced together and ready to be transferred onto the block!

 

Then a lot of carving happened…

LeeAnnDiCicco_Bones3And then some more…

LeeAnnDiCicco_Bones4And then we changed directions entirely…and did even more carving!

Tali, get out of the way!  "But I'm helping!"

Tali, get out of the way! “But I’m helping…by being adorable.”

 

Finally it was time to ink up and print.

Like my big periodic table block I printed this big fella with a wooden spoon.  Here I am just peeling back the paper a bit to check my progress.

Like my big periodic table block I printed this big fella with a wooden spoon. Here I am just peeling back the paper a bit to check my progress.

 

And here’s the completed piece in my state-of-the-art drying rack (taped onto the wall).

 

LeeAnnDiCicco_Bones7

Woo hoo!  I’m loving doing these over-sized blocks, even though printing them with a spoon is starting to lose some of its charm.  Though taking a full day to print one of these guys with a spoon does give me a chance to visit with an old college friend. And that friend, of course, is tendinitis. On a related note, I was wondering if any of you have any experience printing with a print frog? I’m thinking of picking one up and would be interested in hearing about your experiences with them.  Please let me know in the comments!

 

 

4 responses to “New Jumbo Woodcut: Blood and Bones

  1. Rod Andrus

    What a great print I really like the composition and detail. Not sure about printing with a frog as a novice my vision of it seems a bit messy.

  2. Superb print! I am very impressed by your tenacity as well as your creativity and imagination.

  3. I have a print frog and like it. It’s heavy which means you don’t have to mash down so hard and has a much larger flat surface than a spoon so it covers a larger area. I have enjoyed mine even though I haven’t used it that much yet.

  4. Gil DiCicco

    Great looking print! Strong composition.

    Gramps Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 128 other followers

